Daily News Egypt

Rosberg siezes F1 Grand Prix championship in Mexico - Daily News Egypt

Advertising Area

Advertising Area

Rosberg siezes F1 Grand Prix championship in Mexico

Rosberg also got the best time in the race on lap 67 after he completed it in 1:20 minutes.

German Mercedes team driver Nico Rosberg won the title of the Mexico Formula One Grand Prix after a five month hiatus from winning first place.

The last title he achieved was in the Austria Grand Prix in June, Rosberg’s fourth victory this season within the Formula One calendar.Rosberg won the race came by achieving a time of 1:42:35, collecting the full 25 points of the race. British driver Hamilton came second with a 1.9 second difference, and 18 points.

Rosberg also got the best time in the race on lap 67 after he completed it in 1:20 minutes.

Williams team driver, Finnish Valtteri Bottas came in third with a 14.5 second difference, despite his accident with fellow Ferrari driver Kimi Räikkönen.

The Ferrari team did not have a good day since both drivers withdrew as a result of an accident during the race; Räikkönen crashed with Bottas.

Sebastian Vettel also had an accident at the seventh corner, leading Ferrari out of the race without any points for the first time since the Japanese Grand Prix in 2014. It is also the first double withdrawal of the Ferrari drivers since the Australia race in 2006.

Spanish McLaren driver Fernando Alonso also withdrew from the race at the end of the first lap as a result of a problem in his car’s power unit.

Champion of the Mexico race Nico Rosberg is second in the drivers’ annual ranking of Formula One drivers, with 272 points behind Lewis Hamilton, who tops the list with 345 points.

This year the Mercedes team tops the list with its 617 points, 243 points ahead of its closest rival Ferrari’s with the end of the year’s competition, in which only two races remain.

The ranking of the top 10 drivers is as follows:

Pos. Driver Team Laps Time/Retired Grid Points
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 71 01:42:35 1 25
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 71 1.954 2 18
3 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 71 14.592 6 15
4 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull-Renault 71 16.572 4 12
5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault 71 19.682 5 10
6 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 71 21.493 7 8
7 Nico Hülkenberg Force India-Mercedes 71 25.86 10 6
8 Sergio Pérez Force India-Mercedes 71 34.343 9 4
9 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso-Renault 71 35.229 8 2
10 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Mercedes 71 37.934 12 1

Advertising Area

Breaking News

No current breaking news

Receive our daily newsletter