Daily News Egypt

Egyptian football with 14 titles before facing Morocco - Daily News Egypt

Advertising Area

Advertising Area

Egyptian football with 14 titles before facing Morocco

Ahly is record holder with 8 titles, Zamalek with 5, Ismaili with 1

Before the upcoming match between Ahly Club and Wydad Casablanca in the final leg of the African Champions League final, we shed light on the Egyptian teams, which were culminated in the African Champions League title, and the number of times that these teams won the African titles, which totalled 14 for Egypt.


The first Egyptian club to win the title of the African Champions League is Ismaili, who won the title in 1969, following a draw with TP Mazembe, with two goals each in the home game and three to one in the second leg. This was the first and last time for Ismaili to win the title of the African marathon.


Ahly won the African title eight times. It won in 1982 its first African title, playing against Asante Kotoko S.C. Ahly defeated its African rival with three clean goals in Cairo and a goal each in Kumasi. In 1987, Ahly was victorious after a game against Al-Hilal in Cairo that ended with two goals for Ahly in Cairo, following a draw in Omdurman. Then in 2001, Ahly seized the title after beating the Mamelodi Sundowns F.C. by three goals in the return game and a draw in the first leg with one goal each.  As for the title in 2005, it was at the expense of the Tunisian Étoile Sportive du Sahel. The teams had ended the first game with a draw, and then the Red Devils scored three goals in the second leg.

Ahly retained the African title for the following year after beating Tunisia’s CS Sfaxien in Rades 1-0 in the second leg, after a 1-1 draw in Cairo.

As for the sixth title, it was achieved in 2008, when the Red Devils defeated Cameroon’s Coton Sports FC de Garoua with two goals to none and a draw in the second game. Ahly continued to win the African title, where it regained the title in 2012 before the Espérance Sportive de Tunis team. The first leg in Borg El Arab ended with a draw, then 2-1 in the second game. Ahly also managed to keep its title in 2013 after defeating Orlando with two goals in the second game and 1-1 in the first.


Zamalek won the Champions League title five times. The first was against the Shooting Stars S.C. in 1984, when Zamalek won 2-0 in the first game and scored another goal in the second leg. Then in 1986, the Whites reaped their second title at the expense of Africa Sports. Zamalek ended the first game 2-0 and lost by the same score in the second game. The title then relied on free kicks, which ended with the Egyptian team winning 4-2. The third title was gained in 1993, when it won over Asante Kotoko S.C. with free kicks 8-7, as both teams had a draw in both legs of the match.

After three years, Zamalek returned and won the African title once again – this time playing the Shooting Stars S.C., which the Egyptian team lost to in the first game, and then won in the second. Zamalek also gained its fifth title following a game with Raja Casablanca 1-0 then 0-0.

Advertising Area

Breaking News

No current breaking news

Receive our daily newsletter