Daily News Egypt

Egyptian expats continue voting in parliamentary run-offs - Daily News Egypt

Advertising Area

Advertising Area

Egyptian expats continue voting in parliamentary run-offs

Voting outside Egypt will end on Monday, according to NEA

Egyptian embassies and consulates continue to receive mail-in ballots from Egyptian expatriates as they vote for individual seats in the run-offs of the 2020 House of Representatives’ second phase elections.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs’ operations room is monitoring all procedures related to the conduct of the electoral process abroad in coordination with the National Elections Authority (NEA), as well as the guidelines governing the procedures for the work of election committees for Egyptians abroad. It is also dealing with any difficulties or problems facing missions, and transmits any complaints from citizens abroad to the authority, or the technical support group.

The voting will continue until Monday according to the NEA decision. Egyptians abroad in 124 countries finished printing the ballot papers on Friday.

The run-off round for the second phase of the elections will take place on individual seats in the 13 governorates’ districts, including: Cairo, Qaliubiya, Daqahleya, Menoufiya, Gharbeya, Kafr El-Sheikh, Sharqeya, Damietta, Port Said, Ismailia, Suez; North Sinai, and South Sinai.

Egyptian diplomatic missions around the world are set to receive mail-in ballots over a period of three days, until 7 December.

According to the NEA, expatriate Egyptians will complete the casting of their votes in the 2020 House of Representatives elections through postal voting. This feature has been put in place in light of the exceptional measures taken worldwide to confront the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Last week, the NEA announced the results for first phase run-offs held earlier this month. Up to 42 individual seats were secured during the first round, with the 142 seats reserved for candidates running under the party list system taken in a landslide by the electoral list led by pro-government Mostaqbal Watan Party.

Advertising Area

Breaking News

No current breaking news

Receive our daily newsletter